The Double. Gulp.

A forum for discussion of training in dressage
MidgetMustang
Greenie

The Double. Gulp.

Postby MidgetMustang » Wed Oct 21, 2015 4:18 am

So my dynamite dressage 'stang is very solid Second level and we are comfortably schooling all of Third. I'm playing with the idea of introducing the double bridle.
My reasoning is that 1. Change is challenging for my girl. In a clinic a couple years ago the instructor had me try out a drop noseband. Cara ground her teeth for a month after that. New things make her pretty tense. If I start by poking around the pasture or riding down the road with the double on, it will give her a chance to get used to it slowly. I don't plan on schooling with it for quite a while 2. I've never used two reins before so it would give me a chance to get used to the feel.

My instructor sort of implied that since I can show in a snaffle, why bother?...
And honestly-it's a big milestone for me. I've never managed to get a horse to this point. I know I CAN show in a snaffle but at some point I want to be able to ride down the centerline to the jingle of a curb chain :)

So my question is: when do YOU start introducing the double bridle?

Bats79
Novice

Re: The Double. Gulp.

Postby Bats79 » Wed Oct 21, 2015 4:52 am

If the double is new to you then I would start with two reins on a snaffle and learn to feel the difference between them and how to manage them. Nothing harder for a horse that is learning the double bridle than a rider who can't manage the reins.

You owe it to your horse to learn how to manage the reins first.

MidgetMustang
Greenie

Postby MidgetMustang » Wed Oct 21, 2015 4:55 am

What a fantastic idea! The last thing I want to do is make it a bad experience for her because of my fumbling.

Bats79
Novice

Postby Bats79 » Wed Oct 21, 2015 4:58 am