How to manage bolting?

A forum for discussion of training in dressage
DJR
500 post plus club

How to manage bolting?

Postby DJR » Sat May 27, 2017 2:13 pm

I've been riding for about 35 yrs now, and I've never come across a true bolter before. Even when I rode race horses back in my 20s, they didn't bolt. Sure they'd get strong, but that was different and manageable. Sorry this is long to paint the picture accurately.

Fast forward to this Fjord-x large pony mare, Aggie, that I bought 3 yrs ago hoping that she'd be a "move up" mount for my petite/timid daughter. Aggie has always been spooky/snorty and I've been working on that since I got her with a large improvement in it. She always has - and likely always will - a bit of snortishness/spook in her. Not even really "spook" so much as hypervigilance. I do not know about her first 5 yrs as she came from an uncertain background, and I suspect she had little to no handling as a youngster.

At any rate, I'd been working with her myself and doing well. I showed her in 2015 in walk-trot divisions and even did some short-course eventing at the 18"-24" level, and she did very well. Then she was accidentally bred at a boarding facility I had her at early in 2015 so I had to stop riding her and let her be a broodmare through the majority of the 2016 riding season. I restarted her late in 2016 and added some canter, and brought her to a jumping clinic as a greenie late last fall. I didn't ride her much all winter because of the crappy footing we had this winter, then re-started her again in March/April with more focus on getting her canter improved.