How do you introduce spurs?

A forum for discussion of training in dressage
khall
Bringing Life to the DDBB

How do you introduce spurs?

Postby khall » Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:49 am

Though I have ridden in spurs before, not in many years now. Just gotten lazy I guess. I've always used them to refine the leg aid, the whip is to amplify the leg aid. But I have never had any particular way I've introduced them. Cedar has a program of progressive introduction and education to the spur. Was interesting. One spur for sideways, other spur to stop. Spur on for engagement then soften in trot halt transitions.

What do you guys do with spurs?

piedmontfields

Re: How do you introduce spurs?

Postby piedmontfields » Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:19 pm

I am not an expert! But I'll share experience as I went through this last year. I now wear spurs sometimes. I hadn't ridden Emi in spurs at all, but I thought they might be helpful to jazz Emi up a little for more challenging work. So I just put them on and barely used them for many rides. I did lots of quiet hacks with them at first.

Personally, I use the spur mainly for collection/asking for more activity behind and occasionally as a little backup for sideways. I do not use it for forward (that is leg, or leg + whip). I once rode a spur trained horse (spur to stop) and it made no sense to me at all. I know western traditions have different approaches to spur training.

I have a working student ride my horse when I am out of town for long periods and she uses spurs in a different manner (i.e. for forward). It takes about one 20 m circle to remind Emi when I'm back that leg = go, not spur = go (and she is much more relaxed about that approach, as she holds more tension when the spur is used too much).

Dresseur
500 post plus club

Postby Dresseur » Mon Apr 02, 2018 3:17 am