Freestyles?

A forum for discussion of training in dressage
blob
Bringing Life to the DDBB

Freestyles?

Postby blob » Wed Sep 07, 2022 1:40 am

I'm debating putting together a first level freestyle for RP next year. I've never done one before, so I thought it might be a nice challenge to play around with one now at the lower levels so that I can gain some experience while at a level I still have some confidence with generally speaking.

So, I was hoping to get any advice or tips from those of you have done them before. I feel ok about trying to choreograph something that shows off our strengths and flows nicely, but I'm at a loss for the music part. For those who have done it--did you pick your own music or have someone help? Are there copyright restrictions on what music you can use and can't use?

Chisamba

Re: Freestyles?

Postby Chisamba » Wed Sep 07, 2022 12:56 pm

I put two different colored polos on Keas front legs. T did quite a lot of video and then I counted her beats in all three gaits.

Once I had a fairly good idea of her bpm I searched not copyrighted music in the same meter. Listened and tried to find inspiration for the required moves in the music.

Tanga
500 post plus club

Postby Tanga » Thu Sep 08, 2022 7:14 pm

I've been doing my own for 35 years. There are no restrictions on music. They settled the copyright a long time ago.

I listen to music I like and then start going through it, looking at a video of the horse. Sometimes I get it right away, and sometimes it takes days and days. I never do bpm. Sometimes a little slower or faster enhances the gaits better. You'd be surprised how even the same bpm makes the horse look very different. I have always listened to music where I feel the moves and created the ride to the music. I think it flows better than way. Quilla's present freestyle I did it the way most people do and created the choreography and then cut and paste the music to the choreography just to see. Eh.