Walk to canter

A forum for discussion of training in dressage
PaulaO
Bringing Life to the DDBB

Walk to canter

Postby PaulaO » Mon Oct 17, 2022 6:25 pm

I am not a novice rider. Miss A. was a schoolie for years and tolerated absolute beginners. So why can I not get a walk to canter transition? W to C is much easier for me and her. My instructor can get the transition with no problem, although Miss A will pin her ears when asked but immediately pricks them forward.

I give her the aids (outside leg back, heel scoop with inside leg at girth). She trots faster and faster. I half halt before asking with seat and leg. I vow I am doing it correctly but obviously not since she won’t canter.

I’m open to all suggestions. Throw them at me.

Tanga
500 post plus club

Re: Walk to canter

Postby Tanga » Mon Oct 17, 2022 7:36 pm

She's not understanding. Even though you think you're giving the aides, somehow you're not. Are you "half halting" and preparing her to let her know she needs the energy and needs something?

Honestly, I have added "cheats" to all of my gait cues because it gets tricky in the GP to keep or get the right gait. The collected walk to passage is a bugger to get them to keep the walk until the transition. And the passage to canter can be beautiful or awkward. So, besides the "half halts," I add a little wiggle to the inside rein before they aides so 100% know what to do.

I assume she knows the word "canter" or something? I would add verbal cues to help her understand what you want, repeat a few times, and then they usually are quite cooperative.

StraightForward

Postby StraightForward » Mon Oct 17, 2022 9:31 pm