Pet names in the workplace

Racetrackreject
500 post plus club

Pet names in the workplace

Postby Racetrackreject » Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:42 pm

I have been the recipient of a pet name at work recently. It feels weird. It is weird right?

We are "work friends", and I probably would let the it slide outside of work, maybe. He didn't use it around other people at work, and I don't think he would. It just felt a little too familiar for workplace use. If that makes sense.

How do you feel about these things? How would you handle it?

Josette
Bringing Life to the DDBB

Re: Pet names in the workplace

Postby Josette » Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:48 pm

Yes - not appropriate IMO. If repeated, I would politely ask him not to use it.

Tuddy
500 post plus club

Postby Tuddy » Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:02 pm

The way I look at it - if it bothers you, that makes it inappropriate.

I work in the oil/gas/construction industry, so very male dominated. I have one pet name in particular that I am okay with, it is more of a nick name really. And then one of my co-workers tried to give me another nickname and I didn't like it, so I shot it down right away.

On another note, when I read the title of the thread, I thought you were looking names for a pet you have a work. I was totally looking forward to pictures of a cat or something! LOL!

Racetrackreject
500 post plus club

Postby Racetrackreject » Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:33 pm

LOL! That's so funny Tuddy! I do bring my JRT to work with me sometimes and both of the owner's dogs often come to work as well. We're very pet friendly. =)

I work in a male dominated field as well and the name is not awful or anything (Booboo). The only reason it seems weird to me is because it feels too familiar in the workplace. Like if someone overhead it, they may think there was something more going on maybe? "No, don't worry, you're good Booboo." is how it was used the first time and in a similar way the second time.