....if no one ever sold a horse....

Chisamba
Bringing Life to the DDBB

....if no one ever sold a horse....

Postby Chisamba » Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:10 pm

I am not very good at selling horses. I once sold a horse that ended up being sent to an auction. Perhaps the panic of it has stuck, but on mulling it over, i have had another thought.

My sons first pony was aged and beloved. If he had not been sold, he would have.missed out on a very precious part of his life.

None of my clients have the time, desire or commitment to bring on green horses, yet they all want to be able to find a horse to have, ride and love.

So thank goodness for people who train horses to sell. I am not sure why there is a stigma attatched to it. Isn't it an unrealistic expectation that every person buy a horse for its whole life time?

What is the opinion on this?

PaulaO

Re: ....if no one ever sold a horse....

Postby PaulaO » Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:15 pm

I'm fine with training horses for resale. It is unrealistic to think every horse will be kept for its lifetime. Like you said, horses and ponies can go to new owners in order to teach them. I think us casual riders tend to keep horses forever, but competitive riders move up the levels and often go past their horse's abilities. Of course, I believe (perhaps wrongly) that every buyer should be vetted.

orono
Herd Member

Postby orono » Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:20 pm

I have bought more than I have sold, since I usually keep them until they die . But I have no interest in breeding, foals, young greenies..so I am very grateful that all of my beloved mounts were sold to me.

DJR
500 post plus club

Postby DJR » Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:30 pm

This is a hard one for me.

I am one of those who enjoys bringing along young horses. I have two now that I bought out of a bad situation with the plan to make them solid citizens, back them, and resell them down the road. All of my current horses were trained mostly or entirely by me.