The carousel never stops turning.

Linden16
Herd Member

The carousel never stops turning.

Postby Linden16 » Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:45 pm

So I had to take a big step back again, a step so far back from everything that made me happy before, because I just didn't know how to be that person. I'm still learning how to be her again.

So the last time I reached out to you, my friends here, my mom had died and I had just had a second knee reconstruction for bilaterally dislocating patellar issues on my left knee (the mounting knee!). I was again definitively instructed by my surgeons that if I rode again, like I did after the first knee repair, I would destroy the cadaver grafts that were screwed into either side of my femur, anchored into my patella, and there would be no third time lucky. There's way too much damage already from the 13 years of dislocations. So, no riding, and I would have a fully functional knee. I want to go back to that time. That was 7 months ago..

I was still processing that, and then after 3 months later I feel a pop, it blows up and starts dislocating. I don't need an MRI to tell me that the grafts have failed. I didn't even sit on a horse. So, at least now I can ride, as riding feels much nicer than walking or anything else!

Just starting to try to get through mom's passing, i choose not to celebrate Christmas this year, I honestly don't have joy or peace or happiness in. Y heart this year. Mom was the gift giver, the decorator, the baker etc. She made us girls love the holidays. And I don't have kids so I can get away with avoiding Christmas for a year. Plus, I was very upset with my father about the whole situation and how mom's life was for the last cloudless years, and although I did call in the fall a few times, around Christmas and on his birthday, he never picked up and his answering machine was always full. He often forgets to charge the phones so it wasn't a shock. I am not sure if I really want him to pick up or not..