Installing wood laminate flooring

Sunshine2Me
Herd Member

Installing wood laminate flooring

Postby Sunshine2Me » Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:31 pm

I'm going to (attempt) to install wood laminate flooring in my house. I've never done it before. I consider myself somewhat "handy." Am I crazy? Will I be able to do this? I have heard of other amateurs doing it, so......

Thoughts? Suggestions?

PaulaO
Bringing Life to the DDBB

Re: Installing wood laminate flooring

Postby PaulaO » Fri Mar 03, 2017 6:26 pm

My ex-husband did this in our kitchen. Fortunately I was at Rolex when he did it. Took him the better part of 5 days (including moving the refrigerator into the living room). I don't think it was particularly hard, just time consuming. He didn't have rip up any previous flooring or lay down subflooring. Just the foamy floaty stuff, then interlocking the panels. Lots of cutting and fiddly stuff which I hate.

Good luck and we expect pictures. Just don't let Annie help.

highoctane
Herd Member

Postby highoctane » Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:03 pm

We did our living room over 10 years ago (needs to be redone). The ONE tip I wish I'd known prior is to rub beeswax on the exposed/cut edge. It helps keep water (or dog barf) from causing it to lift & buckle.

It actually was pretty easy to install. Just LOTS of measuring and cutting. I hate carpet, and it's pretty easy to maintain...just keep water away from it lol. I'm actually considering doing my kitchen in a new type of vinyl laminate that's in "boards". It floats as well, so no need to glue anything down, plus you cut it with a utility knife. :-)

Come to think of it, I might just redo the whole thing so it's all level (there's a lip where the laminate meets the kitchen flooring) and the same color. Hmmm....

no.stirrups
Novice

Postby no.stirrups » Fri Mar 03, 2017 10:08 pm