Holy retained sole!

StraightForward
Bringing Life to the DDBB

Holy retained sole!

Postby StraightForward » Fri May 05, 2017 1:00 am

I've been trimming Obie for over eight years now, so I'm pretty well-acquainted with his feet. I've been noticing that his right front looks long, but there is just nothing to trim underneath. It appeared that the sole/frog apex was right at the ground, and he was walking on his sole. The backstory is that he broke a radiocarpal bone on the left side, so I was thinking that he was over-weighting the right and his coffin bone had rotated and was about to pop through the bottom of his foot. :o

So he went in for a radiograph today, and here is what they found. In my defense, the vet also called his sole prolapsed and thought he might have coffin bone rotation, so we were happy with what we saw. Lots and lots of retained sole. I went home and cut a lot of it out, and more wants to come out, plus more wall needs to be taken off now, but I needed my nippers and didn't have them.

The little horizontal lines are air pockets that show where the sole is trying to slough off. I got to those pockets with my trimming today, but it's still impossible to see any sort of dirt line where his frog and sole meet. His coffin bone should be in a better position now; it was borderline negative in this shot. Thought others would find this interesting. His three other feet have been exfoliating normally.
Attachments
Obie Lateral.JPG
Obie Lateral.JPG (52.88 KiB) Viewed 11570 times
Keep calm and canter on.

Srhorselady
Herd Member

Re: Holy retained sole!

Postby Srhorselady » Sun May 07, 2017 2:32 am

Fascinating! Thanks for showing. Excellent angles.

Flight

Postby Flight » Sun May 07, 2017 6:30 am

Thanks for sharing! Very interesting.

khall

Postby khall » Mon May 08, 2017 4:24 am

Wow! Never seen that much sole on a horse before!! Me with the thin soled horses who have had to wear pads to protect them.

Saddlebum
Herd Member