Feeding adjustments: no more alfalfa

blob
Bringing Life to the DDBB

Feeding adjustments: no more alfalfa

Postby blob » Tue Apr 07, 2020 1:49 pm

The barn I have my two is going to stop feeding alfalfa. Horses will still have free choice grass hay and get lots of turnout with grass.

Both of mine currently get alfalfa. MM could probably be ok without, though I think she will miss it. However, I've been using alfalfa for RP as a way to help him get his calories since he's on limited grain.

I'm debating getting alfalfa pellets. I've never used them before and was curious what others thought of adding alfalfa pellets, versus another option such as upping his grain? Buying the pellets will be kind of a pain for me--i'd have to bag his grain and buy the pellets myself, but i'm happy to do that if that's the better choice than upping grain to make up for lost calories.

Hayburner

Re: Feeding adjustments: no more alfalfa

Postby Hayburner » Tue Apr 07, 2020 2:20 pm

Sorry I don't have the answer, but won't grass turnout help keep or put weight on?

Or do you also use the alfalfa for energy?

heddylamar

Postby heddylamar » Tue Apr 07, 2020 3:07 pm

Does your barn feed rice bran pellets or oats? Both add calories without adding energy. Something that they will feed without you needing to intervene would be my first choice.

Maia gets 3 cups of rice bran pellets at each meal on top of a quart of strategy. I do buy the rice bran separate from the grain (only grain and hay are included in board — we provide anything supplemental), but barn owner keeps it with her grain and scoops with each meal.