Rotary arena groomer

dasher
Greenie

Rotary arena groomer

Postby dasher » Tue May 31, 2016 8:19 pm

Has anyone used a rotary arena groomer? Does it do a good job? Is it worth the cost?
I currently use a chain harrow to work my ring. I have been using it for 20 years. Is there something better out there that will not break the bank?
TIA

musical comedy
500 post plus club

Re: Rotary arena groomer

Postby musical comedy » Tue May 31, 2016 10:48 pm

We had the 'original' Snodgress Rotary Groomer. We used in in an outdoor sand ring. At the time, I was quite happy with it, but back then I didn't have any basis of comparison. When I built my indoor, our excavator somehow convinced us to get another kind of harrow. I forget his reason. Since then, we had a TR3, a Parma, and now a Red Master Harrow (with various attachments).

It has been 20 years since we had that Snogress, and it looks like they've made improvements and have several types now. We did have to replace the spikes with sharper ones, but that was an easy fix. As I recall, the price ws $800+ shipping 20 years ago. Who knows what it costs now. My nextdoor neighbor is still using hers and planning to get a new harrow that doesn't require a 3 point hitch. Her's will be for sale cheap, if you are interested. We are in NJ. To add, I don't this think kind of harrow will work with any kind of textile additive. For that reason, a lot of the older harrows might have decreased in price.

dasher
Greenie

Postby dasher » Wed Jun 01, 2016 2:49 am

This is what I was looking at. Same concept, smaller scale. I am liking the concept. SO wants to make sure it really works as advertised.

musical comedy
500 post plus club

Postby musical comedy » Wed Jun 01, 2016 10:47 am

Before we bought ours, we visited a place up in NY that had one and saw it in action. Maybe you can get this company to give you a
list of people that own one you can call to get their opinions on it.