tell me about tall boots..

martha sc
Novice

tell me about tall boots..

Postby martha sc » Wed Feb 24, 2016 7:44 pm

I've been away from riding for several years and am shopping for new tall boots. In the past I had a super pair of Ariat Monaco's with the stiffner up the back, no zippers . The leather in those was firm, they fit snugly and riding in them was like having better educated legs !
Now I am shopping and see the new boots are much softer leather with zippers ,giving a sleeker fit at the ankles. Will these softer leather boots give the same kind of support the old style one did? Thanks, I'm trying to spend my $$$ wisely.

bailey
Herd Member

Re: tell me about tall boots..

Postby bailey » Thu Feb 25, 2016 12:23 am

I'm about to buy a pair of Monaco talls, I have the paddock boots and have loved them. I'll let you know what I think of them.

The calmer I am, the stronger I am.

Niki
Greenie

Postby Niki » Thu Feb 25, 2016 2:04 am

I'm not an expert but did have a pair of lovely stiff leather boots for awhile and i just couldn't get used to them and ended up selling. I had been previously riding in short boots and fairly stiff leather gaiters and was so excited to get the long boots. I just found i wasn't as stable and i struggled to aid correctly and lightly as i didn't have the same feel through the stiff leather as the lighter gaiters.

I have several friends who have had similar experiences and generally all prefer the softer leather long boots or short boot/gaiter mix, especially in our hot climate.

Josette
Bringing Life to the DDBB

Postby Josette » Thu Feb 25, 2016 1:01 pm